Muscular dystrophy & neuromuscular conditions


Muscular dystrophy belongs to a group of genetic neuromuscular conditions where muscles slowly degenerate and weaken.

Where muscle would normally rebuild and continue to grow, in neuromuscular conditions once the muscles are damaged they have limited ability to repair.

Neuromuscular conditions affect more than 20,000 Australians and we support around 800 families in WA.

Who does it affect?

Although often thought of as a childhood disease, these conditions affect people of all ages, race and gender, which makes finding a cure difficult and supporting a diverse community challenging.

What is the cause?

Most neuromuscular conditions are caused by genetic mutations. These mutations occur in an individual due to a spontaneous mutation or are inherited.

How many types of MD are there?

There are nine major categories of muscular dystrophy and they make up more than 30 different types, including: Myotonic; Duchenne; Becker; Limb-girdle; Facioscapulohumeral (FSHD); Congenital; Oculopharyngeal; Distal; and Emery-Dreifuss.

What are the challenges?

With more than 70 types of neuromuscular conditions, the severity of deterioration of muscle strength and function varies, making the task of treating the condition even more difficult.

What’s the impact of MD?

The impact varies according to the type of neuromuscular condition and can include difficulty walking, lifting, speaking and breathing. In some types it may impact life expectancy.

Need more info? Contact Sarah.